Wendy Ng's Blog

Creativity and lateral thinking

Portrait a affection through creative leadership.

Reflections on Leadership Sessions with Miguel

So we are having class with Miguel these two weeks and also got introduce to a PhD student at Kingston, Alia Weston.

I am very impressed with the session with Alia, her class is very interesting and I very enjoyed it. She can be my mentor because we share a few common background. Like how she went from an art  degree (jewelery design) to a MA business management course. We felt the importance of management in the business of creative industries, it is hugely affecting the success of a project and the future development of a bright idea.

Here I want to share this post I found online when it has an interview with Alia – ‘Postgraduate study relevant to your industry can make you stand out from the crowd’. I want to point out on the post it says business masters are more preferable than MBAs because masters graduates are more able to ‘hit the ground running.’ This is the impression I get from Alia. Despite she is a teacher, it is very important to have a character that is very down to earth, a cool team player and also knowledgeable. I also believe that this is what creative industries need and what companies are looking for nowadays, which bring to the tropic of this post.

Portrait an affection through creative leadership

A more creative approach to leadership is all about how to transform the team players and create emulation. To have a very high moral value as well as a very down to earth character is the key of being attractive character in a team. Some people are born with lovely characters but many of us in the world believed that it can be trained. I guess this is why we are all studying creative leadership right?

Here are a few important characters I think we should try to developed and maintain before we finished our education and became a leader.

1. Be honest and organise. – There is nothing wrong to send an email or ring somebody to say sorry I could not finished the job on time rather than disappear at the last minutes. I personally hate people doing this but I was once like that, and sometimes I still have that lazy thoughts.

2. ‘Use’ each other – Don’t be afraid to ask someone to help, joint power is always the best! However, while doing this we have to be independent enough and don’t drag other people to worse.

To be continue.

Filed under: Leadership

Leave a comment

del.icio.us